29 October 2018 –

The future of energy supply and the role of liquid energies.

Climate protection, energy turnaround, defossilisation – there is a broad consensus on the necessity of these issues and not only the petroleum industry has long been researching suitable constructive solutions. A promising approach: liquid fuels based on renewable energies. The topics of the 2nd Technology Forum on 17 October 2018 in Aachen were the potential of these fuels and how far development has progressed.

Around 100 representatives from the automotive, heating and mineral oil industries as well as research and science had accepted the invitation of the Institute for Heat and Oil Technology (IWO) and its science and technology subsidiaries TEC4FUELS and the Oil Heat Institute (OWI) as well as the Mineral Oil Industry Association (MWV) to Aachen to discuss the status and prospects of new liquid energy sources for mobility and space heating.

Presentations and panel discussions gave an insight into current study and research projects and showed first practical experiences for applications in the mobility and space heating sectors. Liquid fuels on the basis of renewable energies are indispensable for a successful energy turnaround, was a central finding of the conference. For this reason, instead of one-sided political guidelines, technological openness is necessary in order to achieve the ambitious climate targets. In any case, considerable investments in research and production would still be necessary. For this, reliable framework conditions are needed in the long term, for which politicians must now set the course.

A detailed follow-up report on the Technology Forum and a video can be found at https://www.zukunftsheizen.de/fuer-fachleute/veranstaltungen/nachbericht_Technologie-forum_2018/

29. Oktober 2018 –

Zukunft der Energieversorgung und die Rolle flüssiger Energien.

Klimaschutz, Energiewende, Defossilisierung – über die Notwendigkeit dieser Themen besteht weitestgehend Konsens und nicht nur die Mineralölindustrie forscht längst an geeigneten konstruktiven Lösungen. Ein vielversprechender Ansatz: Flüssige Brennstoffe auf Basis erneuerbarer Energien. Welche Potenziale darin stecken und wie weit die Entwicklung vorangeschritten ist, waren die Themen des 2. Technologie-Forums am 17. Oktober 2018 in Aachen.

Rund 100 Vertreter aus Automobil-, Heizgeräte und Mineralölindustrie sowie Forschung und Wissenschaft waren der Einladung des Instituts für Wärme und Oeltechnik (IWO) und seiner Wissenschafts- und Technik-Töchter TEC4FUELS und dem Oel-Wärme-Institut (OWI) sowie des Mineralölwirtschaftsverbands (MWV) nach Aachen gefolgt, um über Status und Perspektiven neuer flüssiger Energieträger für Mobilität und Raumwärme zu sprechen.

Vorträge und Paneldiskussionen gaben einen Einblick in aktuelle Studien- und Forschungsprojekte und zeigten erste praktische Erfahrungen für Anwendungen in den Sektoren Mobilität und Raumwärme. Flüssige Kraft- und Brennstoffe auf Basis erneuerbarer Energien seien unverzichtbar für eine erfolgreiche Energiewende, so lautet eine zentrale Erkenntnis der Tagung. Daher sei anstelle einseitiger politischer Vorgaben Technologieoffenheit notwendig, um die ehrgeizigen Klimaziele zu erreichen. In jedem Fall seien noch erhebliche Investitionen in Forschung und Herstellung notwendig. Dafür brauche es langfristig verlässliche Rahmenbedingungen, für die die Politik jetzt die Weichen stellen müsse.

Einen ausführlichen Nachbericht über das Technologie-Forum sowie ein Video finden interessierte Leser unter https://www.zukunftsheizen.de/fuer-fachleute/veranstaltungen/nachbericht_Technologie-forum_2018/