11 September 2019 –

Surrogate fuel for further investigations selected

To enable the initial screening of the “Redifuel” at early project stages, surrogate fuels must be selected due to the limited availability of the final product at the beginning of the project. A large portion of the fuel will be made up by alcohols produced in the hydroformylation (HF) process. During the HF process not only linear but also branched alcohols are produced. Those are either not commercially available or very expensive. Max-Planck-Institute (MPI) provided a small sample of the target alcohol mixture (TAM) for analytics at OWI and Tec4Fuels. The TAM contains both linear chain and branched alcohols. As a surrogate replacement for TAM, a mixture of individual linear chain alcohols (surrogate alcohol mixture, SAM) has been selected and its suitability to represent the TAM had to be proven. With the available portion of the TAM, most of the important properties such as density, viscosity and cetane number were compared with the surrogate mixture. In this process, the compliance of TAM (blended with GtL and Diesel) to the current technology and EN?590 standard for diesel fuel has also been checked by OWI, Tec4Fuels and RWTH Aachen University.

Procedure and results of the investigations

First, the chemical-physical properties of SAM and TAM were investigated by OWI and Tec4Fuels. Subsequently, the blend ratios of the alcohol mixture and the paraffinic fuel with standard diesel fuel to fulfill EN?590 requirements concerning density and viscosity have been determined. The surrogate and TAM show similar density and viscosities over a range of temperatures from 15?°C to 125?°C (Figure 1 and Figure 2). At 15?°C the TAM and the SAM show densities of 830.69?kg/m3 and 828.13?kg/m3 respectively. The viscosities at 40?°C of the TAM and the SAM are 5.3902?mm2/s and 5.6650?mm2/s respectively. Thus, concerning density and viscosity the SAM is a suitable representative of the TAM for the preliminary testing of „Redifuel“.

Density of Target Alcohol Mixture and Surrogate Alcohol Mixture. Illustration: OWI/ TEC4FUELS
Viscosity of Target Alcohol Mixture and Surrogate Alcohol Mixture. Illustration: OWI/ TEC4FUELS

Furthermore, analysis by VKA-RWTH revealed that the SAM and TAM as well as their mixtures with 50% GtL resulted in approximately the same Indicated Cetane Numbers (ICN) (Figure 3). Thus, the SAM is an appropriate substitute for the TAM concerning Cetane Number, too. According to first characterization, blends with an alcohol content up to 40 vol% C6-C11 alcohol mixture in GtL has CN of more than 51, which is above the minimum requirement for EN 590 standard.

Indicated cetane number v/s Ignition delay for different fuels and their blends. Illustration: VKA-RWTH

What is the surrogate mixture used for?

The measurements contribute to a selection of a suitable fuel matrix to conduct further investigations using the surrogate mixture. The selection of suitable surrogate fuels and the determination of a fuel matrix enable the investigation of fuel properties, the impact of fuel on various materials of a fuel system, effects on lubricity and ageing characteristics as well as performance in the engine already at an early stage of the project.

What is the objective of the research?

The EU research project REDIFUEL aims to develop and produce a high-quality renewable diesel biofuel that is drop-in capable with conventional diesel fuels in any blend ratio. This new “Redifuel” is to be compatible with current and future engine technologies and must meet the chemical-physical properties specified in the EN 590 standard for diesel fuels.

This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under Grant Agreement no. 817612.

More information about the research project REDIFUEL see www.redifuel.eu

11.09.2019 –

Ersatzkraftstoff für weitere Untersuchungen ausgewählt.

Aufgrund der begrenzten Verfügbarkeit des Endprodukts zu Beginn des Forschungsprojekts müssen für die Erstuntersuchung des „Redifuel“ in frühen Projektphasen Ersatzkraftstoffe ausgewählt werden. Ein großer Teil des Kraftstoffs wird aus Alkoholen bestehen, die im Hydroformulierungsverfahren (HF) hergestellt werden. Beim HF-Prozess werden nicht nur lineare, sondern auch verzweigte Alkohole produziert. Diese sind entweder nicht kommerziell verfügbar oder sehr teuer. Das Max-Planck-Institut (MPI) stellte eine kleine Probe des Zielalkoholgemischs (Target Alcohol Mixture, TAM) für die Analytik durch OWI und Tec4Fuels zur Verfügung. Das TAM enthält sowohl lineare Ketten als auch verzweigte Alkohole. Als Ersatzkraftstoff für die TAM wurde eine Mischung aus einzelnen linearen Kettenalkoholen (Surrogate Alcohol Mixture, SAM) ausgewählt und dessen Eignung zur Darstellung der TAM nachgewiesen. Mit dem verfügbaren Teil des TAM wurden die meisten der wichtigen Eigenschaften wie Dichte, Viskosität und Cetanzahl der SAM verglichen. Dabei wurde auch die Konformität der TAM (eine Mischung mit GtL und Diesel) mit der aktuellen Technologie und der Norm EN 590 für Dieselkraftstoff durch OWI, Tec4Fuels und die RWTH Aachen überprüft.

Vorgehensweise und Ergebnisse der Untersuchung

Zunächst untersuchten OWI und Tec4Fuels die chemisch-physikalischen Eigenschaften der SAM und der TAM. Anschließend wurden die Mischungsverhältnisse zwischen dem Alkoholgemisch und dem paraffinischen Kraftstoff mit Standard-Dieselkraftstoff zur Erfüllung der Anforderungen der EN 590 an Dichte und Viskosität bestimmt. Das Surrogat und die TAM zeigen eine ähnliche Dichte und Viskosität über einen Temperaturbereich von 15 °C bis 125 °C. Bei 15 °C zeigen TAM und SAM Dichten von 830,69 kg/m3 bzw. 828,13 kg/m3. Die Viskositäten der TAM und der SAM bei 40 °C betragen 5,3902 mm2/s beziehungsweise 5,6650 mm2/s. Somit ist das SAM in Bezug auf Dichte und Viskosität ein geeigneter Ersatz des TAM für die Vorprüfung von „Redifuel“.

Dichte der Zielalkoholmischung und der Ersatzalkoholmischung. Grafik: OWI/ TEC4FUELS
Viskosität der Zielalkoholmischung und der Ersatzalkoholmischung. Grafik: OWI/ TEC4FUELS

Darüber hinaus ergab die Analyse von VKA-RWTH, dass die SAM und TAM sowie deren Mischungen mit 50 % GtL zu etwa den gleichen Cetanzahlen (ICN) führten. Damit ist die SAM auch in Bezug auf die Cetanzahl ein geeigneter Ersatz für das TAM. Gemäß der ersten Charakterisierung weisen Mischungen mit einem Alkoholgehalt von bis zu 40 Vol.-% C6-C11-Alkoholgemisch in GtL Cetanzahlen von mehr als 51 auf, was über der Mindestanforderung der Norm EN 590 liegt.

Cetanzahl v/s Zündverzögerung für verschiedene Brennstoffe und deren Mischungen. Grafik: VKA-RWTH

Wozu wird das Surrogatgemisch gebraucht?

Die Messungen tragen dazu bei, eine geeignete Kraftstoffmatrix auszuwählen, um weitere Untersuchungen mit dem Surrogatgemisch durchzuführen. Die Auswahl geeigneter Ersatzkraftstoffe und die Bestimmung einer Kraftstoffmatrix ermöglichen bereits in einem frühen Stadium des Projekts die Untersuchung der Kraftstoffeigenschaften, der Auswirkungen des Kraftstoffs auf verschiedene Materialien eines Kraftstoffsystems, der Auswirkungen auf die Schmierfähigkeit und das Alterungsverhalten sowie die Leistung im Motor.

Was ist das Ziel der Forschung?

Das EU-Forschungsprojekt REDIFUEL hat zum Ziel, einen hochwertigen, erneuerbaren Diesel-Biokraftstoff zu entwickeln und herzustellen, der mit konventionellen Dieselkraftstoffen in jedem Mischungsverhältnis kompatibel ist. Dieses neue „Redifuel“ soll mit aktuellen und zukünftigen Motorentechnologien kompatibel sein und die chemisch-physikalischen Eigenschaften der Norm EN 590 für Dieselkraftstoffe erfüllen.

Das EU-Forschungsprojekt „REDIFUEL“ wird von der Europäischen Union im Rahmen des Forschungs- und Innovationsprogramms Horizon 2020 unter dem Förderkennzeichen Nr. 817612 gefördert.

Informationen zum Projekt REDIFUEL unter www.redifuel.eu